Macken, Ultan  

Walter Macken – Dreams on Paper


A personal biography of one of Irelands finest writers.

ISBN: 9781856356305 Categories: ,


This new biography sheds light on the private life of one of Ireland's foremost writers, through his many unpublished and privately held papers and letters. Walter Macken was born in Galway in 1915 and died there in 1967. Originally an actor, principally with an Taidhbhearc in Galway and The Abbey Theatre, he played lead roles on Broadway and also acted in films, notably in Brendan Behan's The Quare Fellow. 


With the success of his third book, Rain on the Wind, he became a full-time writer. His novels include Rain on the Wind and The Bogman, but he is probably best known for his trilogy Seek the Fair Land, The Silent People and The Scorching Wind. He also published a number of books for children.


Known for his romanticised portrayal of the Irish and the portrait he painted of the colonial oppression of the people, Macken's writings were a product of a more nationalistic time.


To see other books by Ultan Macken, click here. 




ISBN 9781856356305

About the Author

Ultan Macken was born in Galway in 1943. Having studied at University College Galway, he worked briefly as a journalist for the Irish Press Ltd. Macken undertook several teaching posts before becoming a feature writer / sub-editor for the RTE Guide in 1973. He remained in this position before opting for early retirement in September 1990. He then worked as a teacher and as a clerical officer for the National Council for Curriculum and Assessment. He wrote a one man show on his father, the acclaimed writer Walter Macken, called My Father, My Son. Author of many books including: Drug Abuse in Ireland, How to Play the Guitar, Eddie Kehers Hurling Life and Mike Murphys Micro-Quiz.


'An extraordinary tale of a remarkable writer/actor'

- Munster Express


'...bring(s) a wishful tear to many a modern writer's eye'

- Irish Examiner